Skip to main content

What are the ICD-10 codes for osteoporosis?

Medically reviewed by Last updated on Sep 20, 2023.

Official answer

  • M80 codes relate to osteoporosis with a pathological fracture: 8 subsets
  • M81 codes relate to osteoporosis without a pathological fracture: 9 subsets
  • M82 codes relate to osteoporosis in diseases classified elsewhere: 3 subsets.

The ICD-10-CM (International Classification of Diseases, 10th revision, Clinical Modification) is a system that doctors and other health care providers use to uniformly classify all diagnoses, symptoms, and procedures. It is published by the World Health Organization (WHO).

ICD-10-CM diagnosis codes consist of three to seven digits. The codes for osteoporosis can generally be found under Disorders of Bone Density and Structure (M80-M82), with a few exceptions.

Related medical questions

Related support groups