Skip to main content

Is Tirosint gluten-free?

Medically reviewed by Carmen Fookes, BPharm. Last updated on Sep 20, 2021.

Official answer

by Drugs.com

Yes, Tirosint is gluten free. Tirosint does not contain sugars, dyes, alcohol, wheat starch (gluten), lactose, or any other excipients (inert ingredients) commonly used to make traditional levothyroxine tablets. It is also produced in a dedicated facility, where no other products are made, eliminating the risk of cross-contamination.

Tirosint gel caps contain only 4 ingredients: levothyroxine, gelatin, glycerin, and water.
Tirosint is a brand of levothyroxine (also known as T4) manufactured by IBSA Pharma Inc., a multinational pharmaceutical company with its headquarters in Lugano, Switzerland.

Levothyroxine is a man-made form of thyroxine, a hormone that is produced naturally in the body by the thyroid gland. Tirosint replaces missing thyroxine in people whose thyroid glands do not produce enough thyroxine naturally.

References
  • Tirosint (levothyroxine) Updated 09/2020[CF1] IBSA Pharma Inc. https://www.drugs.com/pro/tirosint.html

Related medical questions

Drug information

Related support groups