Skip to Content

User Reviews for Sporanox

The following information is NOT intended to endorse any particular medication. While these reviews might be helpful, they are not a substitute for the expertise, knowledge and judgement of healthcare practitioners.

Condition Avg. Rating Reviews Compare
Vaginal Yeast Infection 10.0
5 reviews 57 medications
Onychomycosis, Toenail 6.0
4 reviews 20 medications
Onychomycosis, Fingernail 5.5
2 reviews 19 medications
Oral Thrush 10.0
2 reviews 31 medications
Aspergillosis, Aspergilloma 10.0
1 reviews 6 medications
Coccidioidomycosis 9.0
1 reviews 8 medications
Candidemia 8.0
1 reviews 15 medications
Summary of Sporanox reviews 8.1 16 reviews

Reviews may be moderated or edited before publication to correct grammar and spelling or to remove inappropriate language and content. Reviews that appear to be created by parties with a vested interest in the medication will not be published. As reviews and ratings are subjective and self-reported, this information should not be used as the basis for any statistical analysis or scientific studies.

Reviews for Sporanox

Anonymous · Taken for less than 1 month July 23, 2020

For Onychomycosis, Toenail: “I was prescribed sporanox to take as a pulse therapy for a toenail fungal infection. Day 1, was ok. Woke up at night thirsty and with a feeling of sand in my mouth. Day two, small cough and breathing not 100%. Day 3, the worst nightmare of my life. Let me just say, I'm a healthy young person, running around 80/miles a month in addition to regular gym sessions. My resting HR is 45. Never in my life have I had even a headache. That day, I was extremely tired, coughing, the strongest headache in my life, constantly thirsty, literally thought the next stage was dying. It's day 5 (I stopped on day 3) and I still feel a headache and the lymph nodes behind my ears hurt very much for the second day in a row. I can't move my head too much without hurting. If you're thinking of taking this for fungal infection in toes or fingers, consider a different therapy like laser options. It was too short of a therapy to see any effects, so I can't say if it would be effective, the side effects were too much.”

1 / 10
Faz · Taken for less than 1 month September 20, 2019

For Oral Thrush: “Took maximum dose of 400mg for two weeks as other antifungal didn't work. My side effects were many nausea, diarrhoea feeling sad dry mouth racing heart rate. I'm glad its over and thrush is 100% eliminated. Works well but I guess every drug has its side effects. Now after completing course the side effects have all gone expect for dry mouth which I was told by the gp could be with for a few weeks after completion.”

10 / 10
Anonymous September 11, 2019

For Oral Thrush: “Amazing”

10 / 10
Me · Taken for 1 to 2 years August 9, 2019

For Onychomycosis, Fingernail: “I had a finger nail fungus. My PCP told me I'd have it the rest of my life. I was at the time in my 20's. In my mid 30's l saw dermatologist for a skin problem on my arm. He mentioned my nails and said I no you can't help me. He looked at it and said it would be gone in few months. I was put on spornox and and it was clear in a month. He kept me on it for a year. I am in my 50's and it's never been back!”

10 / 10
Prima233911 · Taken for 6 months to 1 year September 1, 2017

For Onychomycosis, Fingernail: “I've been taking Sporanox for 10 months now with no improvement. The fungus is visible in all of my fingernails and all of my toes! I am nearing the end of my second (6 month) treatment and still no results with this medication. Fungus has caused several toenails to curl and become ingrown so, very painful. Doctor won't remove the nails while infected with fungus because nails are too brittle to remove safely without risks of infection.”

1 / 10
Billionarie_Goddess June 21, 2017

For Vaginal Yeast Infection: “It worked wonders for me, I suffer from severe constipation which causes thrush from time to time & I would use the cream after a few days the infection will occur again my doctor put me on sporanox for seven days one tablet a day & it since has never returned once I completed my treatment that was over a year ago. This is the best yeast infection treatment I would be an advocate for it.”

10 / 10
MikeRrr April 28, 2017

For Onychomycosis, Toenail: “Took sporanox for approximately seven months to cure complete infestation of toenail fungus (both feet/all toes). Sporanox had started to clear it all up when I ran out of the capsules. I was overseas and unable to get a refill. After stopping the medication for a period of time, the fungus returned to its previous state. Upon my return to the U.S. I did not pursue another Rx due to concerns over liver damage. But, if your liver is healthy and you can take it for an extended period of time, Sporanox seems to be a very effective cure. Much faster than topical meds I've used since then, although like I said soon after I stopped taking Sporanox the fungal infection returned to its previous state.”

10 / 10
sparedbeauty April 8, 2012

For Vaginal Yeast Infection: “I definitely recommend Sporanox because it worked well for me without side effects. My doc placed me on it for 7 days and then another 7 day repeat if symptoms persist; which it did. Upon completion of my 14 days (2 capsules once daily) I had no symptoms. It is now 2 going on 3 wks later and I haven't relapsed with any of the symptoms or anything indicating the yeast infection returning.”

Trail Runner October 20, 2011

For Coccidioidomycosis: “I have had a cocci infection in my left knee for 25 years (research says it will be chronic). It took 5 years and 3 surgeries to get a diagnosis. I got relief the first day I started with Nizoral. After seven years, I switched to Sporanox 200 mg per day. Efforts to stop the therapy always followed with relapse. However, dropping to a 100mg per day maintenance dose after another 5 years kept all swelling and symptoms at bay. In 2004, I was able to stop taking Sporanox and was symptom free until last month (Sept, 2011). Swelling and heat disappeared within a day of restarting Sporanox. Titer blood test results have varied over the history of my infection from 32:1 to negative to 16:1 to again being negative at this time.”

9 / 10
Anonymous June 1, 2011

For Vaginal Yeast Infection: “Just started the treatment with Sporanox (on the first day) after vaginal infection pill and fungal cream didn't work and had a lot of hypersensitive skin reaction. Now going without cream just antiseptic rinse and some lotion on affected area. I found it works wonder as the first day taking the pills. I shall report once again after completion of 7 days treatment.”

10 / 10
Anonymous February 20, 2011

For Aspergillosis, Aspergilloma: “This medicine has saved my life. Just praying that my liver enzymes are staying normal, don't know what would happen if I have to stop taking it.”

10 / 10
Anonymous September 22, 2010

For Vaginal Yeast Infection: “This medication did wonders with this problem.”

10 / 10
Anonymous March 14, 2010

For Candidemia: “After being treated for only a week with Sporanox pro I felt a lot better. Supplementing it with a strict diet really helped.”

8 / 10
Anonymous August 9, 2009

For Onychomycosis, Toenail: “After a year on Sporanox, my badly infected and painful toenail grew out. Odd part is having the infected toenail and other, minor, medical conditions for 30 years; Sporanox cleared up many other conditions. The doctors said not possible, however, I know there is a connection. Heart arrhythmia, gone; non healing nose/anal fissures, gone; facial/scalp/pubic psoriasis plus mucus membrane inflammation gone for treatment duration, but back after year. A year later, the original nails were still clear, but different nail infected with peeling, scaly, skin across 1/3 of my foot. Strangely it didn't get worse. Back on Sporanox. Seems to be clearing both conditions. The returning problems above also vanished when restarting Sporanox.”

8 / 10
Bogeyman June 27, 2009

For Onychomycosis, Toenail: “One small nail had 100% infection while 2-3 other toes (including big toes) were slightly affected. After one month it was clear. Sporanox was very effective. Healthy nail growth was apparent. But I stopped using the medicine because of the side effects, namely the sense of abnormal heart and mental function (not unlike the effects of pseudoephedrine) together with headaches and tiredness. I tried Lamisil for one month and the improvement continued but I suffered from nausea, tiredness and occasional headaches. Now I have just started Diflucan.”

5 / 10
Leenda October 10, 2008

For Vaginal Yeast Infection: “Sporonox works so much better than other medicines or vaginal creams.”

10 / 10