Skip to main content

S6. Stimulants

All prohibited substances in this class are Specified Substances except those in S6.A, which are non-Specified Substances.

Substances of Abuse in this section: cocaine and methylenedioxymethamphetamine (MDMA / “ecstasy”).

All stimulants, including all optical isomers, e.g. d- and l- where relevant, are prohibited. 

Stimulants include:

S6.a: Non-specified Stimulants

A stimulant not expressly listed in this section is a Specified Substance.

S6.b: Specified Stimulants

Including, but not limited to:

and other substances with a similar chemical structure or similar biological effect(s).


 * Bupropion, caffeine, nicotine, phenylephrine, phenylpropanolamine, pipradrol, and synephrine: These substances are included in the 2024 Monitoring Program and are not considered Prohibited Substances.
** Cathine (d-norpseudoephedrine) and its l-isomer: Prohibited when its concentration in urine is greater than 5 micrograms per millilitre.
*** Ephedrine and methylephedrine: Prohibited when the concentration of either in urine is greater than 10 micrograms per millilitre.
**** Epinephrine (adrenaline): Not prohibited in local administration, e.g. nasal, ophthalmologic, or co-administration with local anaesthetic
***** Pseudoephedrine: Prohibited when its concentration in urine is greater than 150 micrograms per millilitre.