Tapering "How to" for Effexor -- Method 1
    sweettooth is offline New Member

Default Tapering "How to" for Effexor -- Method 1

If you are at the point that you, along with your doctor, have decided it is time to stop taking Effexor, here is some help in order to avoid overwhelming withdrawal symptons that often happens when someone tapers too much, too fast.

I have taken Effexor, my highest dose was 150mg XR/once a day (extended release capsules) for 1 1/2 years. I have been tapering for 10 months so far and I'm now at 25mg/for the day (using tablets). I have had minimal withdrawal to this point and I attribute that to the very slow tapering and cutting doseage's at a rate between 5-10% (and no more than that) each time.

I started using the tapering method below after my doctor cut my highest dose in half from 150mg to 75mg. He kept me there for a few months and then cut 75mg down to 37.50mg--withdrawal started. Then he did the other day routine with the 37.50--I was a mess! Then off--3 days later I CRASHED big time and had 95% of all withdrawal associated with Effexor.

My doctor put me back on 75mg of Effexor, but had no idea how to get me safely off. So I came up with the following regiment for myself and it has been very successful. I've been able to go about my responsibilities with little to no disruption in my routine or schedule. I hope it is a help and blessing to you.

Now for the how to's:

Instead of counting out granules (which really isn't accurate as granule capsule contents vary anywhere from 105 - 124 granules per capsule), use Effexor immediate release tablets (don't worry you won't feel any different than using the capsules---I switched from the capsules to the tablets). The only difference is that you will take one half of your tablet dose in the morning and twelve hours later take the second half of your dose.