22 Aug 2012
WOW, gorami, I had NEVER even thought about that, so I called the company. If you take the 50mg capsule, it is made from bones of cattle. If you take the 100mg it is taken from the skin of pigs. I was really shocked thinking that something made from animal products would surely be marked, if not for allergy, but basic courtesy. Perhaps you are a vegetarian, or vegan, or even further, a Kosher Jew, or Muslim, where pork is prohibited. After talking with the pharmacist from Purdue, who makes Colace, he informed me that the FDA sees no reason why those ingredients should be placed on the bottles, and therefore, they are NOT allowed to put them. Fascinating information. From now on, I suggest if you are wary of what you take, you should call the company that makes the product. One more thing the pharmacist informed me about. He said that I would be very surprised to find out how many capsules do have animal products, esp. pig used to make them. Thanks for asking the question!!
Search for questions
Still looking for answers? Try searching for what you seek or ask your own question.
I had my teeth clean and the hygentist said my teeth were discolored, was wondering if it could be the colace
1 answer • 13 Feb 2010
What is the smallest pill form of colace? I tried the liquid, terrible and don't swallow pills well?
I can swallow the lasix pills,hydrochlorot, as they are tiny. I was hoping the colace pill came in a similar form. Again, wondering the smallest form ...
1 answer • 14 Apr 2010
I've been taking Colace now for just over a week and I find that when I urinate, the color is getting more and more yellow. This is not a dark ...
2 answers • 9 Jan 2011
I have developed a rare allergy to mammalian meat as a result of a lone star tick bite. It is my understanding that the magnesium stearate which is ...
0 answers • 6 Sep 2013
I would like to know the source of the red and blue capsule of the Rapid Release Acetaminophen (Kirkland-Costco brand). Does it come from animal ...
1 answer • 14 Jun 2014