Skip to Content

Novartis Award in Diabetes winners announced

Novartis Pharma AG has announced the recipients of the 2002 Novartis Award in Diabetes. Four  clinical investigators judged to have made exceptional contributions to the field of diabetes will each receive a US$25,000 grant.

A panel of independent internationally-recognised diabetes experts, selected two recipients in each category: Long-Standing Achievement and Young Investigator.

The Long-Standing Achievement Awards go to Professor Sir George Alberti (U.K.) and Professor Daniel Porte (U.S.A.) for exceptional and sustained achievements in clinical research, education, and clinical practice.

  • Professor Alberti is President of the International Diabetes Federation and has worked with the World Health Organisation for many years, serving on its Expert Advisory Panel since 1979. He is President of the Royal College of Physicians, Professor of Medicine at the University of Newcastle, and Professor of Metabolic Medicine at Imperial College, London. Professor Alberti has devoted many years of his career to raising awareness of diabetes, and of the need for screening and more aggressive management of the disease.
  • Professor Porte is Professor of Medicine at the University of California School of Medicine, Professor Emeritus of Medicine at the University of Washington School of Medicine, and Staff Physician at the VA San Diego Health Care System. Professor Porte's career spans more than 30 years of research in diabetes. He has published over 350 professional papers on topics as far-reaching and diverse as insulin action in the central nervous system, beta cell dysfunction and preservation, and the pathophysiology of impaired glucose tolerance.

The Young Investigator Award recognizes innovative, patient-oriented research in the fields of physiology, pathophysiology or epidemiology of diabetes and its complications. Awards will be presented to Dr Riccardo Bonadonna (Italy) and Dr Kitt Petersen of the U.S.A.

  • Dr Bonadonna is Assistant Professor at the University of Verona Medical School. He has published over 60 papers on such topics as insulin and its metabolic effects.
  • Dr Petersen is Assistant Professor of Internal Medicine and Assistant Director of the General Clinical Research Center at Yale University School of Medicine. His work in the broad area of diabetes research has focused on endocrinology, glucose metabolism, and insulin resistance.

Professor Eberhard Standl, chair of the judging panel, said, "We were extremely impressed by the quality of the nominations this year. The recipients have conducted outstanding research, crucial to advancing our knowledge of diabetes. Their contributions have already had and will have a major impact on diabetes treatment, and on the quality of life of millions of people around the world whose lives are affected by diabetes".

Dr. James Shannon, Novartis' Global Head of Clinical Research and Development, added: "We, at Novartis, honour this year's recipients for their personal and professional commitment to diabetes. We hope that the Novartis Award in Diabetes will continue to inspire researchers from around the world to strive for the highest standards in diabetes treatment and clinical research."

Award recipients will be honoured during a gala presentation dinner at the Hungarian National Gallery, Budapest, on September 3, during the EASD in Budapest. Recipients will receive US $25,000 from Novartis.

Novartis recently launched Starlix (nateglinide), a novel insulin secretion agent derived from the amino acid D-phenylalanine. Starlix uniquely restores the physiological insulin secretion pattern lost in people with type 2 diabetes, thereby preventing the mealtime glucose spikes that increase risk of long-term complications.

For further information on the Novartis Award in Diabetes, visit

Posted: June 2002