Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Failure to Warn about SSRIs & Alcohol

Default Failure to Warn about SSRIs & Alcohol

This is my first message, but an important topic.

As a criminal defense attorney, I see hundreds of clients annually who obtain medications from their physician for anxiety, sleep disorders or depression, yet are not warned to consume NO ALCOHOL when taking these medications. The synergistic effects caused by combining ANY amount of alcohol and these drugs can be devastating for the patient who is surprised to find himself or herself in jail for DUI-DWI, or even vehicular homicide. Blackout, seizures or major amnesia episodes are common. Effexor is currently involved with three of my clients, with others using various common SSRIs and benzodiazepines.

See my recent article that was published in the DWI Journal, warning attorneys to be aware of this phenomenon. A safe practice for physicians would be to warn every patient not to drink alcohol while on these medications. You should draw up a written acknowledgement for any patient being given these medications indicating that the patient has been told to consume NO ALCOHOL while taking these medications. Have each patient sign the ackowledgement.

The article can be found at either of these two sites:

William C. Head
    Attorney at Law
    DUIMAVEN
    Last edited by ddcmod3; 10-20-2015 at 09:28 PM.

Dorothyanne,

This issue (mixing alcohol and SSRI drugs) is a powder keg of legal problems. I have been speaking about this for several years, but need a better way to "reach" the public. I was hoping that one of the networks might investigate it, so that the message would be widely disseminated.
    Last edited by Noodles; 01-18-2016 at 03:08 PM.

Dorothyanne,

Here story is repeated 1000 times per week or more across the USA. She is one of the fortunate ones who was intercepted before either an accident or an arrest for DUI-drugs or DUI-drugs & alcohol.

Good luck in helping here stay out of trouble.