Skip to Content


Pronunciation: ver'te-bra, -bre

Definition: One of the segments of the vertebral column; in humans, there are usually 33 vertebrae: seven cervical, twelve thoracic, five lumbar, five sacral (fused into one bone, the sacrum), and four coccygeal (fused into one bone, the coccyx).

[L. joint, fr. verto, to turn]

Further information

Always consult your healthcare provider to ensure the information displayed on this page applies to your personal circumstances.

© Copyright 2018 Wolters Kluwer. All Rights Reserved. Review date: Sep 19, 2016.