Skip to Content
Medical Term:

pulvinar nuclei


the large caudal portion of the lateral thalamic nuclear group; may be divided into four nuclei on the basis of cytoarchitecture and connections: nucleus pulvinaris anterior [TA] (anterior pulvinar nucleus [TA]), nucleus pulvinaris inferior [TA] (inferior pulvinar nucleus [TA]), nucleus pulvinaris lateralis [TA] (lateral pulvinar nucleus [TA]), and nucleus pulvinaris medialis [TA] (medial pulvinar nucleus [TA]); functionally related to the visual system.

Synonym(s): nuclei pulvinaresTA

© Copyright 2017 Wolters Kluwer. All Rights Reserved. Review Date: Sep 19, 2016.