Skip to Content

intralaminar nuclei of thalamus


Definition: collective term denoting several cell groups embedded in the internal medullary lamina of the thalamus: the central lateral nucleus [TA], paracentral nucleus [TA] (nucleus paracentralis [TA]), the central medial nucleus [TA] (nucleus centralis medialis [TA]), the centromedian nucleus, and the parafascicular nucleus [TA] (nucleus parafascicularis [TA]). The central lateral and paracentral nuclei receive afferents from the cerebral cortex, brainstem, reticular formation, cerebellum, and spinal cord, and project more or less diffusely to large regions of the frontal and parietal cortex. The centromedian nucleus receives input from the internal segment of the globus pallidus and motor cortex and projects to the striatum and motor cortex.

Synonym(s): nuclei intralaminares thalamiTA

See Also: centromedian nucleus

Further information

Always consult your healthcare provider to ensure the information displayed on this page applies to your personal circumstances.

© Copyright 2018 Wolters Kluwer. All Rights Reserved. Review date: Sep 19, 2016.