Skip to Content
Medical Term:

anterior nuclei of thalamus


collective term for three groups of nerve cells that together form the anterior thalamic tubercle: the anteroventral nucleus [TA], a relatively large nucleus; the anteromedial nucleus [TA]; and the anterodorsal nucleus [TA], a small (but large-celled) nucleus. These nuclei receive the mammillothalamic tract from the mammillary body, and additional afferents by way of the fornix; they project collectively to the cortex of the cingulate and parahippocampal gyrus.

Synonym(s): nuclei anteriores thalamiTA

© Copyright 2017 Wolters Kluwer. All Rights Reserved. Review Date: Sep 19, 2016.