I found this write up and I am sure that this will help you.
Answer: No, you can not have lactose monohydrate
"Lactose is synthesized in the mammary (milk-producing) glands of mammals. The milk of such animals contains an enzyme called lactose synthetase, which acts on the compound uridine diphosphate D-galactose to produce lactose. The compound is obtained commercially from whey, a byproduct of the cheese-making process. The solids in whey contain about 70 percent lactose by weight. These solids are filtered to remove the proteins they contain. After removal of minerals in the whey, the resulting solution consists of about 50 to 65 percent by weight, which is allowed to crystallize out of the resulting solutions. The lactose produced by this process is a racemic mixture of the D and L isomers. To obtain the alpha isomer, the lactose is dissolved with water and treated with activated carbon to remove any color. When the water evaporates from the solution, α-lactose monohydrate remains. The product is most commonly made available in this form. To obtain the beta isomer, α-lactose is heated with water in the presence of a base, which converts the alpha isomer to its beta form."
Search for questions
Still looking for answers? Try searching for what you seek or ask your own question.
Posted 11 Aug 2010 • 1 answer
I have IBS and I am lactose intolerant and now have stomach ulcers. I was prescribed dexilant which?
Posted 14 Oct 2011 • 1 answer
Posted 17 Mar 2013 • 2 answers
I am celiac. Recently diagnosed lactose intolerant. Is there a gluten free med for lactose intolera?
Posted 28 Apr 2013 • 2 answers
Posted 22 Apr 2014 • 2 answers