(I see that Ranitidine itself is gluten-free as listed on a gluten-free drug list... so I'm assuming the syrup is also GF, but wanted to be sure.)
8 Aug 2009
Yes, I believe so.
The brand name Zantac syrup does not contain gluten (see below) and it is likely that the generic equivalents have the same formulation.
Each 1 mL of Zantac Syrup contains 16.8 mg of ranitidine HCl equivalent to 15 mg of ranitidine. Zantac Syrup also contains the inactive ingredients alcohol (7.5%), butylparaben, dibasic sodium phosphate, hypromellose, peppermint flavor, monobasic potassium phosphate, propylparaben, purified water, saccharin sodium, sodium chloride, and sorbitol.
- Ranitidine Information for Consumers
- Ranitidine Information for Healthcare Professionals (includes dosage details)
- Side Effects of Ranitidine (detailed)
Search for questions
Still looking for answers? Try searching for what you seek or ask your own question.
it lists starch in the list of ingredients but not what kind. Also is there one that is gluten free by another manufacturer or a liquid that is?
1 answer • 29 Sep 2013
I have gone gluten-free and use the dicyclomine. I am trying to decide if gluten-free is enough, but fear not using the dicyclomine daily.
1 answer • 17 Apr 2014
I have Celiac and need to be gluten free, also what is the base of the filler
1 answer • 30 Jun 2014
I would like to know whether a prednisone product it free of gluten, as I am a Celiac patient. What?
What number can I call to reach someone tomorrow? The NDC is: 005915443-05 and it is taken over 10 days, if you can provide a direct answer via ...
3 answers • 6 Mar 2015