Skip to Content

Are there any gluten-free, lactose-free 60 mg propranolol pills?

Answers (1)

pillzilla 26 Nov 2013

Sources of gluten in pills include any starch ingredient (including "pregelatinized starch" and "sodium starch glycolate") not labeled as coming from a gluten-free source (corn, potatoes, tapioca). Other ingredients that might come from wheat or barley include (but are not limited to) dextrates, dextrins, dextri-maltose, and maltodextrin.

Lactose is commonly seen as lactose (hydrous or anhydrous) or lactose monohydrate.

The Propranolol Hydrochloride 60 mg pill manufactured by Mylan Pharmaceuticals lists the following excipients:

Silicon Dioxide
Croscarmellose Sodium
Magnesium Stearate
Cellulose, Microcrystalline
Starch, Corn
Sodium Lauryl Sulfate
FD&C Blue No. 1
FD&C Red No. 40

which should make it both gluten and lactose free. Most other similar pills contain lactose.
http://dailymed.nlm.nih.gov/dailymed/lookup.cfm?setid=b94dcec7-7633-4a33-9cea-48161adeaf93

You should double check with the company:

Mylan Pharmaceuticals Inc.
781 Chestnut Ridge Rd.
Morgantown, WV 26505
1-800-RX-MYLAN
http://www.mylanpharms.com/contact_us.aspx

https://www.drugs.com/imprints/mylan-pr60-60-17388.html

Drugs.com free discount card

Further Information

Search for questions

Still looking for answers? Try searching for what you seek or ask your own question.

Similar Questions