Health Tip: Avoiding Gluten

-- People with celiac disease should avoid eating gluten, a protein found in most grains, especially wheat.

The Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics makes these suggestions for avoiding gluten:

  • Always read food labels. Look for gluten-free foods that are fortified with iron and folate.
  • Opt for whole grains that are naturally gluten free, such as buckwheat, quinoa, teff, millet, corn, flax and amaranth.
  • Carefully read restaurant menus and ask questions about ingredients.

Posted: May 2012


View comments

Hide
(web2)