Genmab announces Change in Management

Copenhagen, Denmark; June 15, 2010 – Genmab A/S (OMX: GEN) announced today that its co-founder, Lisa N. Drakeman, Ph.D. retires from her position as Chief Executive Officer of and as member of the board of directors of Genmab.

Under her leadership, Genmab raised over USD 1 billion in capital, completed the largest initial public offering of any biotech company in Europe, received the annual James D. Watson Helix Award as the best international biotechnology company in 2005 and was named as the Biotechnology Company of the Year in 2007, formed alliances with a number of leading pharmaceutical companies, and received regulatory approval in the United States and Europe for Arzerra®, a new treatment for patients with fludarabine and alemtuzumab refractory CLL.

The Chief Executive Officer position at Genmab will be filled by Prof. Jan G.J. van de Winkel, Ph.D., the company’s former President, Research and Development and Chief Scientific Officer, effective as of today. Dr. van de Winkel has over 20 years of experience in the therapeutic antibody field and served as Scientific Director and Vice President of Medarex Europe prior to co-founding Genmab.

“Lisa’s vision and leadership built Genmab into a leading biotechnology company. We are grateful to Lisa for her many accomplishments and for her many years of hard work and dedicated service to the company. We wish her a happy and relaxing retirement,” said Michael Widmer, Ph.D., Chairman of the board of directors.

Conference Call

Genmab will hold a conference call to discuss today’s news on June 16, 2010 at:

4:00 PM CEST


3:00 PM BST


10:00 AM EST

 

The conference call will be held in English.

 

The dial-in numbers will be published on Genmab’s website tomorrow on June 16, 2010.

 

To listen to a live webcast of the call please visit www.genmab.com.


 

Posted: June 2010


View comments

Hide
(web3)