siezures
    grannyfranny is offline New Member

Unhappy siezures

Please help last nite about 3:30 am my dog had a full blown siezure i work in the medical field and have delt with people haveing siezures many times but with my dog i felt totaly helpless please give me some feedback on this

fairygodmother is offline New Member

Default seizures

You may not pick up this reply as your original concern was posted in May but here goes......

Most vets will not treat epilepsy with anything if a seizure has occurred as a "one off". If the seizures persist and come fairly frequently, then the course of treatment is usually phenobarbitone which is a barbiturate. Most dosages will be trial and error in a way, to see which doses the dog can cope with in order to keep seizures at bay.
    Blood tests will be necessary at various intervals to assess phenobarb levels.

Certain breeds can be susceptible to epilepsy (you don't mention what breed you have) and also age may play a part (younger dogs generally suffer more but thats not definite)
    If your dog is female, sometimes neutering can help but not with males unfortunately.
    Of course there can also be sinister reasons for epilepsy other than being "just one of those things", dogs can suffer from brain tumours which trigger seizures, these can only be diagnosed with MRI but dont panic as these are rare.

If your dog suffers from fits, the most important thing is not to panic, easier said than done i know.
    The dog will be unable to control itself and must be given plenty of space so as not to harm itself.
    Somewhere on the ground (not on a bed where the dog may fall) somewhere dimly lit and quiet to reduce any stimuli while the brain is in overdrive.

Dogs may continue to fit even on medication and so vets usually prescribe diazepam (valium) tubes that are inserted rectally, that are fast acting to calm the dog down.