Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Like Tree79Likes
A positive "getting off Suboxone" experience
    Anonymous Guest

Default A positive "getting off Suboxone" experience

Hi to all..... I am new here as a poster, but I have been reading other's experiences for quite sometime now. A little background on myself - I am a 36 year old, relatively in good shape/health, female with two children and a long time boyfriend who have been non the wiser to my story. I am also a full time student (RN) so I have a pretty busy life. I was a heavy user of Vicodene, Percocet, & Roxy's for about 3 years, and then I started mixing in Aderall and Methadone for about another 6 months. Then I started on Suboxone. That was about 3-1/2 years ago. I was induced at 24mg's a day and stayed there for about a year. I switched Dr's about half way through and he insisted that I start weening and get off them. I, of course, didn't follow his advice. I wound up, about a month ago, making a decision to get off Suboxone - for good. I got myself down to about .5mg a day for a week, I skipped 4 days, had to take .25mg for 3 days, skipped 3 days, and then 14 days ago took my last dose of approx .125mg. It has been kinda rough, and it's not a method I would recommend, but I have to say it really hasn't been terrible. I had a few days where I thought there is no way in hell I can do this, but with kind words of encouragement from Robert and other's on this forum I have so far suceeded! I still don't sleep worth a darn and there are times when I just don't feel right, but overall I am ok :-) I have not missed any school/clinical time because of this, I have been able to take care of my family, and I have found support and courage from various sources when I need it.