Like Tree2Likes
  • 1 Post By getmeouttahere
  • 1 Post By getmeouttahere
tramadol, the devil's invention
    getmeouttahere is offline New Member

Unhappy tramadol, the devil's invention

Hi everyone,

I am new here. Getting ready to start weaning myself down from 400 mg of tramadol a day. And I am scared to death.

I started out on vicodin, progressed to norco, of course taking too many. I have si issues from a work related back injury ( I am a nurse) pain mgmt. Doc put me on ER morphine, with IR tabs for break through pain. I never abused them, but they made me crushingly depressed. So I took my last tab, cancelled my appt for the next refill and suffered my ass off. I made it, and felt so strong. But the pain was still there, so my doc suggested these little non addictive and harmless pills called tramadol. They worked great. I had no pain, energy to spare and I was happy..a big deal in itself since I was still suffering from PAWS.

Fast forward 3.5 years. I have never exceeded the 400 mg daily dosage limit, but at times I feel the urge to. I knew in the back of my head they were an issue, but I refused to acknowledge it till now. I mean, they aren't addictive, right?? Right. I have to get off of then before they become a huge issue. I can not let myself become a person taking 20-30-40 pills a day to be "normal". I refuse. I am not too concerned about the opiate like w/d. I've done it before, it sucks, but it goes away. What I am most worried about is the major depression, fatigue and insomnia that seems to accompany this. I am a nurse, have two children and a home to take care of. I can't be that debilitated for a couple of months. I am also concerned about my pain levels in my back after it is all said and done. I feel like I am out of options on the pain management front.