Like Tree2Likes
  • 1 Post By AlmostHome
  • 1 Post By nobby02
My Story
    AlmostHome is offline Junior Member

Default My Story

I origionally posted this in another thread, but since I have been posting on here and helping others I decided to make it a thread so it comes up when people view my profile.

I have been clean since December 2011. I am a 32 year old IT guy from Pennsylvania. I have an open ended script for tramadol because i have a lumbar that is in pieces and it is not operable without risk. It started off innocently enough, I used to take it sporatically here and there when i was in dire need. I would hurt myself and become laid up for days, but i would still only take one or two when i was having an episode and needed to move. Then, my mother passed away when i was 29. For some reason i turned to my tramadol, i started taking 4 50mg pills in the mornng and 4 at night. When the pills started wearing off i would start crying uncontrollably and had rapid mood swings, so in a classic demonstration of addict rationalization i decided simply to never come down. I had myself convinced that i was helping myself because i was now managing my pain very well and had very little back pain episodes. I found that i was starting to become very tired all the time so i did the smartest thing i did in a while and that was go down to six a day 3 in the morning and 3 at night. This was also coupled with a 10 year long daily marijuana habbit which i used as my "bottle of beer" at the end of the day. After I began taking tramadol daily my marijuana intake went from a way of winding down to a every waking moment habbit. This went on for about 3 years. I was a very functional addict, rarely missed work and had a healthy home life. I knew i was addicted, but honestly didnt care. Of course i could not go anywhere without my pill bottle because i was popping them like clockwork. I am gratefull that my usage didnt increase overtime like it did for some, but i could not miss a