Hydrocodone Addiction Help...
    zachsteve is offline New Member

Default Hydrocodone Addiction Help...

I have been abusing hydrocodone off and on now for about 10 years, I guess I'm what you would call a small time addict, using between 50-80 mg a day, although I've certainly taken more. That being said, I've always been careful about not going over the daily APAP limit. Unlike most opioid addicts, I've never done OxyContin or >>>>>>, but I still consider myself an addict because these pills have messed up my life. It's not just opioids either, I also take xanax and klonopin, although I normally just take them for sleep and not during the day. I quit drinking and smoking weed a couple years ago. I also quit doing coke years ago so I definitely have a long history of drug abuse.

I'm bascially in a position now where I am out of pills, I am going cold turkey whether I like it or not. Honestly, I am tired of the side effects, the fact that they don't really get me high anymore, and the fact that I have to lie to my doctor to get them. I am at a pain clinic, it's just a matter of time before they give me the boot anyway. I came up short of my last pill count so they're definitely keeping an eye on me. Not to mention the fact that I was not honest with them about my history of drug abuse. I figure it's just a matter of time before they get ahold of medical records indicating that I have a history of drug abuse and CD treatment. That being said, now is as good a time as any.

A friend of mine gave me some methadone 10 mg tabs for withdrawal. When I ran out of pills a few months ago I took 15 mg of methadone, and my withdrawals went away for while. The only problem is, I did some research online and discovered the dangers of methadone and benzos, no way I'm going to use the methadone again for withdrawals, I don't want to go to sleep one night and not wake up. It is very tempting though because methadone does eliminate withdrawals, even at low doses.