Stopping Hydrocodone/Seeking Joy
    cyclegirl is offline New Member

Default Stopping Hydrocodone/Seeking Joy

Hi, I am brand new here. I have been taking Norco for 6 months for a long term sports injury. Ironically I have been in recovery from alcoholism for the past 20 years and have been thru detox and treatment in the past. But never for pain meds, this is very new. I tried for a few years to treat my injury w/ natural remedies, massage, PT, etc. It has never gone away and in fact the pain only increased. I am a fitness trainer and my husband is an RN, who currently is a rep for suboxone. So I am very aware of the info out there on dependency and addiction. I just got sick and tired of walking around on a hurt foot 100% of the time that would not heal. I got a Rx for tramadol for a while but was sneaking my husbands vicoden (He had just had a knee surgery). That made me feel more at ease and gave me energy. It dulled the pain in my foot, but moreso, it dulled the pain of life. I could cope better, feel altered and high, and enjoy myself better. I never thought that it would take hold of me and bring me to my knees. I simply have been living in so much pain I needed a break. Somewhere along the way, I crossed a line and started taking them simply to get high, but I had no moral thought or any guilt. It was almost a survival means, that I must take them. My husband found out I had taken some of his pills and we talked thru it. I went back on the tramadol, but then decided to have surgery. I have been on extremely high dosages of Percocet and Vicoden since Sept 1. Somehow I ended up favoring the Vicoden and could easily get refills w/out really trying...taking 10-12 tabs a day and functioning. I am a wife, have a big house,am a mom of 2 kids, a student in college, and teach spin class / personal trainer. I have lost the ability to run, which is my #1 anxiety reliever. I found that I could deal w/ all these stressors and pain MUCH easier on the pain meds. I felt si