Like Tree2Likes
  • 1 Post By Robert_325
Xanax and Beer - Questions
    Paws917 is offline New Member

Default Xanax and Beer - Questions

My husband has been taking three .5 mg Xanax pills every night for insomnia for two years now. I am just now starting to find out how awful they are through what I've read. He's always been argumentative, moody and short-tempered, but he seems to be getting worse and that's what led me to start investigating the pills he takes.

I have a question ...

What effect does beer have on Xanax? I know you aren't supposed to take any meds with alcohol, but I read somewhere that beer and Xanax have the same effect on the brain so it's almost like taking a double dose of Xanax. If that's the case, then what happens when someone quits drinking, but is still taking the Xanax? Do they go through some of the withdrawl symptoms I've been reading about?

Sorry if these are stupid questions. I'm just starting to learn about this stuff.

Quote Originally Posted by Paws917 View Post
    My husband has been taking three .5 mg Xanax pills every night for insomnia for two years now. I am just now starting to find out how awful they are through what I've read. He's always been argumentative, moody and short-tempered, but he seems to be getting worse and that's what led me to start investigating the pills he takes.

I have a question ...

What effect does beer have on Xanax? I know you aren't supposed to take any meds with alcohol, but I read somewhere that beer and Xanax have the same effect on the brain so it's almost like taking a double dose of Xanax. If that's the case, then what happens when someone quits drinking, but is still taking the Xanax? Do they go through some of the withdrawl symptoms I've been reading about?

Sorry if these are stupid questions. I'm just starting to learn about this stuff.

Hello Paws...

No question is a stupid question (although my answer might be a stupid one LOL)