Taking the first steps to quit painkillers
    Ready2Quit is offline New Member

Question Taking the first steps to quit painkillers

Hi ...this is my first time trying this...I have been addicted to painkillers oxycodone, hydrocodone, oxycotin. It all started out innocent enough,,,I broke my ankle about 9 years ago now (OMG i did not realize it has been this long)!!!! and from that point on, I slowly and gradually started taking them more often, but the past two three years have been almost on a daily basis. more recently I have been up to 80mgs a day sometimes more. I really want to stop but then I get up in the morning, kids need this or that, the house needs to be cleaned again, the food needs to be cooked, I need to go to work, my back is killing me, my ankle feels like it is broke again and then I reach for the pills again. It is a vicious cycle I have been going through each and every day. Did I mention that my boyfriend is going thru the same thing? I give him credit, he did quit for about 6 months, but I wasn't any help, I kept on using-I tried not to in front of him, but he knew. when he fell off the wagon I could see he was disappointed in himself. We keep talking about quitting, but what keeps popping up in my mind are all the horror stories I hear...I have one major question right now....if we quit cold turkey, can withdrawal effects actually be so severe to kill you? I have heard that people who quit without tapering off can have heart attacks because their bodies need the meds because we are so used to them and become dependent on them, what will my body do when I don't take anything tomorrow? Please help...we want to quit but kinda scared of what might happen...thank u in advance for your advice, comments....sincerely yours, Ready2Quit.

Anonymous Guest

Hi Ready2Quit
    I'm going to put up some info for you...I know this is not easy but it is doable...I was addicted to oxycontin and every other pain pill there was out there and Im clean now...