Opiates for depression....?
    djmedic is offline New Member

Default Opiates for depression....?

I am a medical professional (PA) working in family practice. I want to address something that has gotten me on a personal level and I see in my patients every day. That is the use of opiates for treating depression AND anxiety (we tend to label EVRYTHING depression when it may be anxiety/stress and not true depression and that is a huge concern of mine). Years ago I found, only by honest treatment and back then ingorance, that opiates DO help the mood. But only when taken as prescribed. I notice alot of patients now who, in one sentence tell me they are lifting 100 boulders to build something, yet claim disability, and then in the other are seeing me for a refill of their pain medications...because it is not really physical pain they need relief from. Studies have shown (for sake of brevity I am not going to post the studies here, but they can be found on googlescholar.com) that opiates do help depression. Other studies have shown that many of the SSRI's like lexapro, celexa, etc, are actually worse then a placebo (sugar pill!) for treatng depression.

I fall more into anxiety, but also I know that WE ALL get depressed. I lecture my patients often, in a nice way, that they "are not an island!" We all think, or they tell me, "well I have been through alot!" WE ALL HAVE. I get the "I have a 'slipped' disk everyday....anyone over 30 likely has some disk compression. Common, not rare. So it is with our lives. I like to say that we families are LOOKING for function, as I have never seen a family that did not have some dysfuntion.....but that is okay too.