Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Getting off pain meds
    Hellweek is offline Member

Default Getting off pain meds

Hello,

I have been perscribed pain meds for a problem with my neck that requires an operation.

I have been putting of the operation for almost 2 months now and durring this time I have been perscribed Vicodin 5/500 and when they no longer worked the doctor changed it to 7.5/350. I guess this should have been a warning sign for me.

The pain meds have been taking the pain away but at a cost. The cost is the constant fog of the meds. I decided at this point that I will deal with the pain a different way. I decided to stop taking them.

Yesterday was my last dose that I took, I tossed the rest in the bottle and do not plan on taking advantage of my refils.

The problem I am having is I feel real bad now 24 hours after my last dose. My joints hurt, my muscles hurt, and the pain that was the reason for taking pain meds seems amplified.

In looking around I happened to hit this site and well I guess based on my symptoms I am in withdrawl.

I am at work, cant focus, in pain and reconsidering the idea of stoping.

I guess the question I have, is how long should I expect to feel this bad? Should I just take the pills?

I guess I know the anwer, I need to stop, they are bad bad bad. However, I feel really bad right now and do not know if I can fight this without some support.
    Last edited by ddcmod; 04-20-2010 at 01:16 PM.

Freedom4me is offline Advanced Member

Hellweek,
    Just hang in there. You have about 2 or 3 more days of feeling bad and then it should start to get better. You are doing the right thing. I was in the same situation. I have been off the meds now for over a year. You can do it. You just have to be tough. I am proud of you for throwing those pills away, not an easy choice! The withdrawals can make you doubt your choice but don't let it get in your head. Just tell yourself you have the flu for a couple days and treat it accordingly.