Ativan for anxiety
    irishpoet is offline New Member

Default Ativan for anxiety

Hi everyone. I am relatively new to meds and definately new to forums, but wanted to share with you.
    Last year, I began having my stress take on physical forms-blood would rush to my head, I would start to shake, my heartbeat would race...ended up in the hospital to discover I had stress. So, the Dr puts me on 2 mg Ativan daily (that was 8 months ago). My prescription now has been upped to 3 mg a day, but I really only take it when I get physical symptoms. Therefore, maybe one pill, 3 or 4 times a week.
    My concern is, is this for life? My stress seems to be getting worse (as I age?) and I have tried "techniques" as stress is a physical thing that happens to you. These things sometimes work, but generally I find myself reaching for my pills. I don't really have an addictive personality, but my concern is what is this doing to my body? My liver? I have read horror stories. Can anyone relate or know anything else about this medicine?
    Thanks!
    Irish

Robert_325 is offline Retired

Quote Originally Posted by irishpoet View Post
    Hi everyone. I am relatively new to meds and definately new to forums, but wanted to share with you.
    Last year, I began having my stress take on physical forms-blood would rush to my head, I would start to shake, my heartbeat would race...ended up in the hospital to discover I had stress. So, the Dr puts me on 2 mg Ativan daily (that was 8 months ago). My prescription now has been upped to 3 mg a day, but I really only take it when I get physical symptoms. Therefore, maybe one pill, 3 or 4 times a week.