Getting off Lexapro
    mvesmo is offline New Member

Default Getting off Lexapro

Hi,
    This is my first time on the site and I'm hoping someone can help me. I've been on lexapro 10ml for about a year and half now and I would like to come off it. Th epill has worked great for me and I feel better than I have in years. When I first got on it my doctor said that I could get off of it in about 9 months. I saw him a couple of weeks ago and instead of taking me off it, he ran blood test to see if it was effecting my liver,(it was not). On my own I have reduced my intake to 5 ml per day. I was wondering if someone can tell me if this ok? I have had no side effects so far from doing this. Also, when I was orginaly put on this by my doctor, he said that that the lexapro would even out my chemical inbalance in my brain and I could come off it in 9 mo to a year. Is this true? And if so is it time for me to stop taking it? Thanks for your help. mvesmo

dmtmb is offline New Member

I was on Lexapro 10 mg daily for over a year myself. I also wanted to get off of it as it made me extremely tired. I found myself back in the hole when I got down to 5 mg daily and needed to reup to 10 mg to get back out again. Eventually the Lexapro has no positive effect on my and my Dr. put me on Effexor. Effexor is fantastic for me, no depression and no being tired. My advice to you is to be alert to any feelings of the depression coming back. It takes a good 3 to 4 weeks or longer before it is really out of your system. Just keep an eye on how you feel. If I can help you more, just ask.

tmp
    tmp is offline New Member