Lexapro, I have questions.
    Flip_22 is offline New Member

Exclamation Lexapro, I have questions.

I just started taking Lexapro for my depression and anxiety. It doesn't scare me to finally find myself being prescribed something like this. I know that I haven't been my normal self for quit some time now. I am not to sure of what my psychiatrist would consider my mental disorder, but recently within the past few months my mood seems like a rollarcoaster. Some days I have the biggest smile on and others I literally only get out of bed to go to the bathroom. I have lost around 20lbs since May. I have been talking with my psyciatrist for atleast two months now and have just started on Lexapro 20mg. I have tried to research as much as I could about this SSRI buti can't quit find the answers I am looking for. Answers to questions I never throughout of while I was talking to my psychiatrist of which I have tried to google. What I am concerned about is the fact that I am now being prescribed medication for something I'm not to familiar with (the drug itself, and percausions). What I am wanting to know is what I should be avoiding while on this drug, as well as any potential risks of this drug. What sparked this concern was that yesterday was the first day on Lexapro, I had taken half of one pill, 10mg. It was an od experience, not pleasurable but neither bad. Later that night I had smoked some weed with a friend and wasn't even thinking about the Lexapro I had taken five hours ago. About 30 minutes of being high and watching a movie I started to feel really paranoid with suicidal thoughts. I have had suicidal thoughts before, non of which I have acted on. I didn't either last night, but non of these thoughts have been so intense and scary. I would not consider myself one to actually do something like kill myself. And I knew I wouldn't have last night. I'm not to sure of what caused me to be so paranoid. I'm not to sure of if it was just me being delusional or an effect