Holiday Blues
    Psyched is offline Member

Default Holiday Blues

Greetings everyone!
    I have been a member of this board for over a year and this is my first thread ever! I routinely post to them, but I have never started one until now. I wanted to remind everyone about the upcoming holidays and what they mean for some people.
    I am NOT a doctor, but I do work in a psych hospital. I wanted to take this time to ask everyone to keep an eye out for their fellow-man (or woman) this holiday season as this is a very stressful time of year for, especially with the added stresses of the economy. If someone you know, even casually, talks to you about suicide or even hints at it...please get involved. If you do nothing more than ask the police to make a courtesy check on someone, please do so if the person has been acting depressed and/or hopeless.
    I realize we are not our "brother's keeper" and that our society has put us in the mind set of "looking out for number one", but please do what you can to lend an ear or even spend time this holiday season with someone you feel might be a danger to him/herself. Christmas time is the most likely time for people to take their own lives and often times, it can be prevented.
    I personally want to extend an invitation to anyone who needs to talk with someone to post here to me; as I have said, I am no doctor but I have been an orderly in a psych hospital for over 10 years. I'm a great listener and I will do my best not to be judgmental.

Sincerely,
    Psyched

doc.rose is offline Advanced Member