Topomax for Migraines...causing memory loss??
    JASPERSTONE is offline New Member

Default Topomax for Migraines...causing memory loss??

My doctor prescribed Topomax about 3-4 mos. ago for Migraine headaches. Whether they were Migraines, per say, was ?, but they were severe, blinding, never went away with any over the counter drug, and were an everyday occurence. I take 100 mg. every evening. I am headache free. I am 56, female & post-menopausal, and I have some Chronic Fatigue...not terribly bad, thankfully. I am on 40 mg. Prozac, 300 mg. Wellbutrin XL, and 1 mg. of Klonopin (split dose, sometomes less), and Lodine (anti-inflammatory) for severe osteoarthritis, everyday, in addition to the Topomax. I suffered Post Traumatic stress (delayed) in 2003-2004 from 9/11 events. I was a 33 year veteran Flt. Attendant at the time. I am very well balanced emotionally and spiritually & intellectually , and have good solid relationships and support, and I do volunteer work. However, my memory (short-term) seems to be getting MUCH worse. I'm wondering if it is the addition of the Topomax? I am terribly disorganized. Forgetting to pay bills, forgetting appts., some of my friends names; I walk out of a room and leave an unfinished project for an hour or so! It's awful. Any experiences, advice, knowledge to share? Thanks

addict doc is offline New Member

Topomax... we used to call it 'dopamax' in my psych residency. It is notorious for shaving off a few IQ points while on it. The effect goes away when you go off the drug.

jessi_lynn is offline New Member