"Suboxone Hangovers" - Sick from Suboxone
    rubbadub9202 is offline New Member

Exclamation "Suboxone Hangovers" - Sick from Suboxone

Hi there, I have been on Suboxone for over a year, and it has helped me a lot. There's only one problem... Waking up sick after taking Suboxone the previous day. It doesn't happen every day, but once in awhile. Other people have reported this problem as well. According to my doctor, along with others, this "sickness" is due to withdrawal. Considering all of the information, I believe the doctors are WRONG, and I will tell you why. I am not a doctor, or a "suboxone hater". I am an experienced opiate addict and Suboxone patient.
    Everything was going fine when I was first prescribed Suboxone. I started out on 8mg per day, but I didn't feel that it was enough, so the doctor upped my dose to 12mg per day. This dose seemed to help, until I woke up one morning with my first "Suboxone hangover"... I had the worst headache. I was throwing up, sweating, and sleeping all day, until I suddenly felt better around 8:00pm. Note, I had not taken ANY suboxone on this day. After talking with my doctor, he was quick to tell me that the illness I was experiencing was the effects of withdrawal... But wait, doctors know that it takes about 3 days to enter opiate withdrawal, and I had just taken my dose the day before. You can't enter extreme withdrawal in less than 24 hours. Also, if I HAD been going through withdrawal, then why would my illness suddenly go away for no reason?
    From my experience, I believe the doctors are incorrect when diagnosing this illness as "withdrawal".
    I would bet that it has something to do with the naltrexone, or simply getting too much Suboxone.