withdrawls from painkillers
    mom-in-trouble is offline New Member

Default withdrawls from painkillers

Hey I am still really new to this I am 29 and a mother of 3 kids and I have let painkillers take over my life... I am scared to tell anyone cause i dont want them to look down on me... someone told me about suboxone... i am to embarrased to ask a doctor about this... so I was wondering what should I expect with the withdrawls from this... I take about 10 - 12 tabs a day and this is getting very expensive and also messind with my health.. I would like to be able to go cold turkey but so far no luck .... The only thing i have noticed when I have tried before was just staying really annoyed by any little thing...if anyone knows what I should expect please let me know and if there is anything i could get without a doc to help me get through this i would appreciate it.. thanks so much
    mom-in-trouble!!

Mary120868 is offline New Member

Mom-In-Trouble:
    I SOOOOO understand!! I am a mom and an attorney and have hidden my addiction to pain killers for years and years. Last week, I had had enough and I just stopped "cold-turkey". It has been extremely difficult. For me, I have vomited and had diarreah for six days now. BONUS: LOST WEIGHT!! Otherwise, its aweful!! I take hot baths around-the-clock, it takes all my energy to walk to the next room. It is really, really difficult.

I am looking into treatment with suboxone in my area. I heard it relieves withdrawals. Your withdrawals may not be that bad, though. Everyone is different. If you must do it without physician intervention i.e. "at-home", here are tips my tips and I'm an EXPERT!!

First and foremost: TAPER DOWN GRADUALLY. Go from 10 a day, to 9 a day etc. . . . See how many pills you have and work out a schedule and find a friend or lock-box to force you to stick to it. That is the most critical information I can give you.