Page 1 of 9 123 ... LastLast
Like Tree84Likes
Too little subutex?

Default Too little subutex?

My doctor prescribed subutex 4 mg twice a day, 7 days ago. Having read Robert325"s Stickie, I induced myself at 2 mg, for a 3 year habit of 150 mg Hydrocodone. The anxiety is tolerable, but my blood pressure is in the high 160s, my pulse is 100 and I sweat a lot at night. I am 68. Do I wait it out, then taper? Or would it be better to take 0.5 mg every 2 hours until I am asymptomatic? Then taper? Frankly the headaches and sweats and inability to sleep are the only really crummy parts of this so far. I need to function (don't we all?) at work and hate to lie around the house exhausted.

pongo64 is offline Member

I am not an expert, but I was a 250-750 Mg and my doc started me with 8Mg twice a day. The discomfort for me lasted two days and each taper really only hit me for a day. 7 days and anxiety...maybe you should call the doc. They often hand out Xanax to help.

Sorry, I can't answer the dosage questions.

Correction...Oops...just realized...you said Subutex...I know it is basically the same drug, but I was on Suboxone.
    Last edited by pongo64; 07-25-2011 at 09:53 PM. Reason: Correction

Robert_325 is offline Retired

Quote Originally Posted by shrimpboat 1942 View Post
    My doctor prescribed subutex 4 mg twice a day, 7 days ago. Having read Robert325"s Stickie, I induced myself at 2 mg, for a 3 year habit of 150 mg Hydrocodone. The anxiety is tolerable, but my blood pressure is in the high 160s, my pulse is 100 and I sweat a lot at night. I am 68. Do I wait it out, then taper? Or would it be better to take 0.5 mg every 2 hours until I am asymptomatic? Then taper? Frankly the headaches and sweats and inability to sleep are the only really crummy parts of this so far. I need to function (don't we all?) at work and hate to lie around the house exhausted.