Suboxone half-life shown graphically!
    picablue is offline Member

Default Suboxone half-life shown graphically!

I'm a math major, so when I found out that suboxone has a 30-hour half life I decided to graph the level of Suboxone in the body as one is doing a taper much like the ones that are popular on this board. Here is what I found:

When you take subs everyday the dose builds up, this means there is a lag-time on withdraws if you should stop.

Suppose you were sticking to the taper, but then stupidly tried to 'party' one day by taking extra subs. Check out how it throws the levels off:

Is it better to cut by 20% or by 25%? I don't know I'm new to all of this. The graphs are not that different. Take a look:

Lastly, what is going on when you skip days once you get down low enough:

Looks like a bumpy ride... but when the levels are low it probably isn't very noticeable.

How much Suboxone do you need to complete a taper reducing by 20% every 4 days starting from 5mgs?

About 97.8mgs that's 12-13 8mg tablets.Though extra might be nice in case one needs to stay at the same level for a few days.

This taper would take about 90 days, though when the levels get low one might just jump off. I have no idea, I have not done this, I'm just running the numbers. I like to know something inside and out before I do it.

I'll post my graph from time to time once I start my taper thread. If you'd like me to send you the excel file so you can tinker with it (excel or google docs) get your email to me and I'll hook you up.

Best.

Hope this is helpful!

Robert_325 is offline Retired