Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By numbOne
Short term treatment of suboxone ???
    Flash11 is offline New Member

Default Short term treatment of suboxone ???

I'm a veteran hydrocodone user - originally prescribed 10 years ago and have abused on / off for about 9 years. Using anywhere from 90mg to 200mg a day.

I've successfully detox'd once about 5 years ago going cold turkey when I was only taking about 50mg/day. That was the worst 72 hours of my life (as I am sure some of u unfortunately know)

I have decided to take the leap.

My questions are: suboxone is a combination drug - and opiod agonist buprenorphine AND a narcotic blocker called naloxone (Narcan). I have a pretty decent knowledge of pharmacology so here's what I understand - the opiod in subox. Is used to bind to my receptors in place of the hydro. The narcan in subox will make any hydro I take not have any effect to me (no buzz).

Here's where I'm stumped - narcan is also used in hospital settings when patients receive too many narcotics - it binds to the narcotic and pulls it out of the patient to help improve their respiratory status. So if I just take subox over only 3 or 4 days, wont it rapidly just pull the hydro out of my system, and the opus in subox would lighten the pain of not having the hydro?

I've read almost 100 threads and statements all over the web saying people have been on suboxone for months and months or YEARS and are having a hard time detoxing from it - and it's half-life is 8 times longer than hydro - so detox time is much longer! ( hydro Halflife is a couple hours - subox is 20+ hours).

Has anyone tried what im about to propose? What if you take a small amount of suboxone (4-8 mg a day for only 3 days)??

What would happen on the 4th day? Would I be detoxing off hydro then? I would have been clean from hydro for 96 hours (I was done detoxing off hydro after 72 hours last time) (also the narcan in the subox pulled it put of my blood/body)