Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By youknowwho
In the process of percocet withdrawal -- a ray of hope
    youknowwho is offline New Member

Default In the process of percocet withdrawal -- a ray of hope

Hi all,

This is my first time posting here, but I wanted to share my story and percocet experience with you.

I started taking 5 mg percocets about three years ago, just for recreation and way to unwind and "check out" from all the usual unpleasantries we have to deal with in life. It became easier and easier to check out than it was to be present in life and, as we all know can happen, it became a habit. Percocet for me was always about distancing myself from my life and checking out -- it was like with percocet, I could just float away from all the BS. It was GREAT.

My daily dosage was relatively minor (if you can say that about narcotic abuse) -- about 2 10s a day max -- split up and taken in 5mg doses. Just enough for a nice blurry buzz all day, every day.

It really, really started to bother me, however, when I slowly admitted to myself that this was a habit and I started to fear life without percocet. It had become my life -- everything else was black and white to technicolor percocet. So I started planning to taper off and quit. Due to recent inclement weather, I had to quit cold turkey because I ran out of pills before I could re-up and the weather turned bad. So, now I am detoxing cold turkey.

And you know what? It's really not that bad -- don't get me wrong: it's no fun, but it's not as bad as I dreaded. I do have the luxury of staying home alone without a lot of distraction or responsibilities, which is a huge blessing (I honestly can't imagine trying to do this while holding down a job and taking care of a family.)