Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By sickandtired69
my Methadone withdrawals...psychological?
    willphoenix is offline New Member

Default my Methadone withdrawals...psychological?

Hello everyone, I had a question about tapering from methadone/suboxone and after looking all over the internet, I can't really find anything that is helping me. Last year, I had been doing about 8 mg of Suboxone per day and only when I quit cold turkey did I realize that it was way too much, way more powerful than I thought it was. I had bad withdrawals, just feeling horrible and having diarrhea, couldn't eat, could barely function, couldn't sit still, etc. So over a period I eventually took myself down to 2 mg per day and it felt fine. I lost my ability to get Suboxone eventually, and had to switch to Methadone. I've been doing methadone for the past 5-6 months and have steadily been on 10 mg per day. Recently I switched to 5 mg and that's when I started feeling bad towards the end of the night. Nothing crazy, just feeling uncomfortable, sweating, having a little trouble eating but nothing that was REALLY messing me up. I kept doing 5 mg per day for over 2 weeks and it seemed like when the dose wore off, I STILL felt the bad feelings. The reason I'm posting this is because everything I read is talking about weaning down from 50 mg of methadone - high doses. I've done methadone steadily in the past and then just quit, and it wasn't too much trouble. So why is it so hard? It seems like I should be able to level out on 5 mg, and maybe it's gotten a BIT better, but it's hard to tell. I REALLY want to quit, but the fear of withdrawals is throwing me off. Is it just psychsomatic? Because sometimes I'll go 24+ hours after my 5 mg methadone dose, and I've slept fine through that and don't feel too bad in the morning. Any advice is appreciated. I feel like I've worked to get to the point of breaking away from the drugs, but they aren't letting me do it. I'm doing this for myself, I have the will to