is roxane brand methadone better than mallinckrodt brand methadone?
    NUTES008 is offline New Member

Question is roxane brand methadone better than mallinckrodt brand methadone?

any suggestions or opinions on which brand of methadone is better/stronger?

NUTES008 is offline New Member

Default roxane is better

roxane baby

anonone17 is offline Junior Member

I am a pharmacist and in my experience I have seen this: Some people come in swaering that I have them mallinckrodt methadone which contained NO methadone saying that it put them in w/d and did not work at all.

I have also had patients say the roxane did not work.

I have also had patients ( most of them ) say they cannot tell the difference at all.

I believe it is a mind of matter ordeal. The same thing goes around with mallie's hydrocodone and oxycodone. People say mallie's are inferior because they are cheap. They believe that if cheaper toilet paper does not work as well, then obviously it's the same way with drugs. The truth is, and I know this for a fact, that fda guidelines prevent generic drugs from being substantially diffent from the brand name the most variation that is allowed in a drug is 5% for the active ingredient. This is no where near enough to cause someone to feel a difference.

Then I get these people who say that because there is a 20% variation in the INACTIVE ingredient allowed, thats what causes the drugs to not work as effectivly. They tell me the binders and such in the pill prohibit the body from absorbing it. NOT TRUE. I can tell you for a fact that the reason they are called inactive is because they have no effect on your body. Many people will hate me for typing this saying " Mallies, watson's etc. DO NOT WORK or THEY DON"T WORK AS WELL AS BRAND NAME! "

The truth of this matter is it's a placebo effect. If someone hands you a steak to eat and then tells you it lived in filth and was diseased while your eating, even if it's top notch filet mignon your not going to like it.