Like Tree2Likes
  • 1 Post By chad5749
  • 1 Post By chris235
Methadone and hydrocodone!!!
    ScorpF4 is offline Member

Default Methadone and hydrocodone!!!

Will methadone stop the affects of other opiates like oxycodone and hydrocodone? Say if i take a 10mg methadone pill in the morning and decide to take some lortab 10's later in the afternoon will the methadone stop the hydrocodone from effecting me??

Cats Meow is offline Diamond Member

I've read that it's suppose to, I've never taken Methadone before but I asked this same question to a friend who has and she said that it doesn't stop the affect.

^..^ ~~ ,
    =´`= ___ )-~

chad5749 is offline New Member

Please note that I am not a healthcare professional and my reply is of a personal opinion in nature.

I would think that if taking Methadone as prescribed for example-the relief of chronic pain, that other opiates e.g. Hydrocodone or Oxycodone would benifit as a 'breakthrough' type addition to the Methadone. I would imagine that other opiates would not be affected or non respnsive, as the lesser drugs in comparison to Methadone would be often used as additonal or 'breakthrough' pain reliever in addition to Methadone when used for the treatment of Chronic Pain.

~º~chad~º~
    Coleman09 likes this.

kcooleymac is offline Member

Methadone has the same effects as other opiates. Lots of people take them recreationally and DO become addicted to them. It is not as bad as becoming addicted to something like OC or something, but it is still addictive and hard to break once started.

-Kristine

pharmd06 is offline Member

methadone will not stop the effect of any other opiate. in fact it works in the same way and the effect would be additive...

zippysgoddess is offline Platinum Member

Yep, it has no ingredients to neutralize opiates like Suboxone does.

My information is not guaranteed correct. I do not get them right all the time, but I do enjoy the hunt~

Montana is offline New Member