Lexapro and Wellbutrin Combination
    Ally66 is offline New Member

Default Lexapro and Wellbutrin Combination

Has anyone ever taken Wellbutrin with Lexapro? I was taking 300mg of Wellbutrin XL (for 3 years) and tapered off of it when I started Lexapro 2 weeks ago. I feel absolutely terrible!! My new Dr. thinks that I'm suffering from withdrawal symptoms from the Wellbutrin so he put me back on along with 30 mg of Lexapro.
    Has anyone had any success with Lexapro for GAD? I'm new to this and really need some advice or support. I'm getting married in just 2 months, and I really want to enjoy this time in my life along with my 13 year old daughter.
    Thanks to anyone who responds : )
    Ally

lyndasay is offline New Member

i dont if have been on both i got hooked to wellbutrine my suggestion get the hell off but i wouldn't mix lexapro with it i would just slowly cut your dose of welbutrine like per week and then start on lexapro the thing about lexapro sometimes makes you in a >>>> happiness and you cant cry when you should but NO WAY WOULD I MIX THEM
    lyndsay

Dr.LJ is offline New Member

Default Not a bad combo

Hello,

I'm on both Lexapro and WellbutrinXL. The Wellbutrin helps counter the lethargy and "dullness" of the Lexapro. It seems they work well in combination and my pyschiatrist uses it quite a bit with other patients.

That being said, I was not on Wellbutrin before nor are my doses as high as yours. Everyone reacts differently, so keep talking to your doctor until you find what's right for you.

Good luck!

-Lyn

jpklcapp is offline New Member

You should really talk to your Dr. - personal experience is not the best indicator about how or why these types of medications will work, not work or make you feel worse. Everyone reacts individually - especially to medications that are working in your brain. Is there a reason that he wanted to take you off the WB? Was it no longer working for you?
    Were you having any side effects?