Fentanyl Transdermal Patch (skin burn)

Question Fentanyl Transdermal Patch (skin burn)

I have been using this patch for 6 months. As of a couple, three weeks now I have been getting bad skin burn from the patch. I keep moving locations on the arms. When I go to what appears to be ok skin it burns right away now. I am having a problem hanging in for the three days. I just want to rip the patch off. But will put up with that vs. being bed ridden with my back pain. I did try on my chest and it burned right away. Anyone else have this problem?
    Thanks,
    Don

sisterwin2 is offline Senior Member

Quote Originally Posted by rookie205@chilitech.net View Post
    I have been using this patch for 6 months. As of a couple, three weeks now I have been getting bad skin burn from the patch. I keep moving locations on the arms. When I go to what appears to be ok skin it burns right away now. I am having a problem hanging in for the three days. I just want to rip the patch off. But will put up with that vs. being bed ridden with my back pain. I did try on my chest and it burned right away. Anyone else have this problem?
    Thanks,
    Don
    Yes.... I was never on Fentyl but I was on Catapress patch for about 8 months when the same happen to me. As it turns out I developed an allergy to the adhesive that they use. I had to switch to by mouth form. The "burn" you discribe got to the point I couldnt tolerate it. The constant itching and then if I ignored it, it turn into cracked skin and a actual skin wound. You should tell you MD, there are many other pain meds you can be treated with. Sorry about your pain, Btw.

Sister..

Wink Thanks