Adderall XR and Vyvanse
    CPhTNoel is offline New Member

Default Adderall XR and Vyvanse

I'm a pharmacy tech, so I'm familiar with these medications, but I had a concern that my pharmacist couldnt help with. My neice, who is 14, is currently taking two Adderall XR 20's for a dose of 40 mg every morning. She ran out over the holiday, so I filled the trial rx her doctor wrote for Vyvanse 70mg. I looked briefly at the information I had handy, and saw that the max dose for kids age 6-12 is 70 mg. I'm aware that the adderall is a combo of 4 different amphetamine salts, and that Vyvanse metabolizes in the stomach to dextroamphetamine. If my neice is on 40 mg of the combined amphentamine salts, with the dextroamphetamine being a portion of that dose, wouldnt 70 mg of the Vyvanse seem high?

edit: I managed to pull up the package insert of Adderall XR, theres a total of 20 mg dextroamphetamine in her current dosage, but since Vyvanse is a produg and turns into dextroamphetamine, how much of the actual dextroamphetamine will be in her system
    Last edited by CPhTNoel; 12-26-2007 at 08:55 PM.

Mr. Lennon is offline New Member

Default Adderall and Vyvanse