Skip to Content
Medical Term:

Mohs scale

Pronunciation: mōz

Definition: One of two scales measuring the hardness of materials. The original Mohs scale listed 10 sustances of increasing hardness: talc (1), gypsum (2), calcite (3), fluorite (4), apatite (5), orthoclase (6), quartz (7), topaz (8), corundum (9), and diamond (10); the modified Mohs scale lists 15 minerals and is known more commonly as the hardness scale.

See: hardness scale