MEDIA ADVISORY: KYTHERA Biopharmaceuticals Announces Preliminary Two-Year Follow-Up Study Results and Poster Presentation of Phase 2B Data from Investigational Fat Reduction Drug at ASDS

(BUSINESS WIRE)--Nov 4, 2011 - KYTHERA Biopharmaceuticals, Inc.:

What:       Oral Presentation of Preliminary Two-Year Long-Term Follow-Up Study Results from Phase 2 Trials with ATX-101 for the Reduction of Localized Fat.  

Poster Presentation of Results from a Phase 2B Study with ATX-101 Using Investigator, Subject and Magnetic Resonance Imaging Assessments

 

         
When:       Long-Term Follow-up Study Oral Presentation

Friday, November 4, 2011

4:35 PM EDT (1:35 PM PDT, 3:35 PM Central)

 

Phase 2B Poster Presentation

Friday, November 4, 2011

5:30 p.m. EDT (2:30 PM PDT, 4:30 PM Central)

 

         
Where:       The American Society for Dermatologic Surgery (ASDS) Annual Meeting, Marriott Wardman Park Hotel, Washington, DC  

Long-Term Follow-up Study Oral Presentation

Scientific Session (CS233) – “Cosmetic Oral Abstracts”

 

Phase 2B Poster Presentation

Wine and Cheese Networking Reception (Exhibit Hall, Halls A & B South)

 

         
Why:       In a rapidly growing market of minimally invasive, non-surgical facial rejuvenation, the reduction of lower facial fat to restore and reshape the jawline remains one of the largest unmet patient needs. There are currently no pharmacologic therapies approved by the FDA for reducing submental fat. As a result liposuction and surgical neck lifts remain as the primary options for intervention. KYTHERA is developing ATX-101 to address this unmet need. ATX-101 is a first-in-class injectable drug being studied for the reduction of localized fat. The initial application of ATX-101 is for the reduction of submental (˜under the chin') fat.
         
About ATX-101

ATX-101 is a first-in-class injectable drug being studied for the reduction of localized fat. ATX-101 is a proprietary formulation of deoxycholate, a well-studied endogenous compound that is present in the body to promote the natural breakdown of dietary fat. ATX-101 reduces subcutaneous fat through localized fat cell membrane disruption followed by elimination from the treated area. This mechanism may enable a non-surgical alternative for the reduction of subcutaneous fat. Clinical studies to date have demonstrated that ATX-101 is well tolerated and may effectively reduce localized fat in the submental (˜under the chin') area. Three randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled, Phase 2 studies with ATX-101 in the reduction of submental fat and four Phase 1 studies (pharmacokinetic, histology, lipid and tolerability) have been successfully completed. Also, two Phase 3 randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled studies are ongoing in Europe in collaboration with Bayer Dermatology.

About KYTHERA Biopharmaceuticals, Inc.

KYTHERA Biopharmaceuticals, Inc. is a privately held, clinical-stage biopharmaceutical company focused on the discovery, development and commercialization of novel prescription products for the aesthetic market. KYTHERA's lead clinical program, ATX-101, is focused on the reduction of submental (˜under the chin') fat. The company also has active research programs with focused interest in hair and fat biology, pigmentation modulation and facial contouring. Find more information at www.kytherabiopharma.com.

 

Contact: KYTHERA Biopharmaceuticals, Inc.
Erica Bazerkanian, 805-300-9289
ebazerkanian@kytherabiopharma.com

 

Posted: November 2011

View comments

Hide
(web3)